Basic Fair Housing Class vs. The New Mandatory DOL Fair Housing Education Requirement Class
There has been an uptick in calls to the Department of Licensing and Washington REALTORS® where brokers are confusing fair housing CE classes with the new Mandatory Fair Housing licensing education requirement going into effect June 1st, 2022.
Remember the distinction to save yourself a bit of grief when trying to satisfy your licensing and member requirements:
(Basic) Fair Housing Class:
All REALTOR® members can take any Fair Housing class from any approved Washington State Real Estate School to satisfy their continuing education requirements. This class is always encouraged and very import for REALTORS® and their clients. A basic Fair housing class has been offered for years as a continuing education option but was never required. These classes do not fulfill the new mandatory DOL Fair Housing Education requirement.
New Mandatory Education — Fair Housing Requirement
Substitute Senate Bill 5378. This bill, passed by the 2021 Legislature, requires education on Fair Housing for Real Estate Brokers and Managing Brokers for new licensees and renewals. The new law goes into effect on June 1, 2022. DOL is currently partnering with Industry representatives to develop a curriculum that will be available to real estate schools. Schools including Washington REALTORS® Real Estate School will develop a Fair Housing course that is specific to the DOL curriculum provided to schools. This course will have a specific course number, and no other Fair Housing Class will fulfill the mandatory requirement.
All active Brokers and Managing Brokers must take a Fair Housing education course as part of the required 30-hour instruction. The first active renewal after June 1, 2022 must include a 6-hour course on Fair Housing with every renewal afterward completing a 3-hour course.
All new brokers will receive a 3-hour Fair Housing course as part of the normal 90-hour pre-licensing curriculum plus an additional 3-hours as part of the normal 90-hour first renewal post licensing curriculum.
If you renew before June 1, then you need to complete the 6 hours by your next renewal in 2024. There is more discussion going on regarding those who are to renew in June 2022. Once a decision has been made, we will notify our members.
New Mandatory Education Fair Housing Requirement classes will be available to licensees by June 1st, 2022. Stay tuned for new class offerings on our class schedule.